Saw It, Pinned It, Did It

I have recently become a children’s librarian and I pinned these two book displays as inspiration for my children’s and young adult displays for June.

2a7e857a55af27d829ec50dca1abe47c

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For the children’s department, I wanted something to go along with our “Dig Into Reading” summer reading program theme. I chose dinosaurs because we have so many dinosaur books AND already had all the props (giant eggs, dinosaur skeletons, a dinosaur puppet, a hard hat, and a small shovel). I taped a label that said “archeologist” to the hard hat! I also had already purchased some small plastic dinosaurs as part of a prize package for kids who turn in their book logs at the end of the summer so I added them too. You can find the “Digging for Dinosaurs” poster I added here.

960861_10151395978951923_314119358_n

For the young adult department, I wanted something kind of simple so I chose “Soak Up A Good Book: Summer Reads for Teens.” I used suns for the “O”s in the title and put suns around the side of the posterboard, with photos of summer-themed book cover and a blurb about each book. I centered the posterboard on a summer-themed tablecloth and placed a beach chair, sand bucket, goggles, beach ball, and float on either side along with two summer-themed books. Then I added additional summer-themed books on either side of the main display along with flip fops, leis, mini sand buckets, and a colorful cup. We already had the beach chair and I bought all the other props at $1 stores.

975928_10151403266926923_5511772_n

photo(2)

photo(1)

photo

Also last weekend by friend Brittany and I made a centerpiece for her son’s 3rd birthday party. This is the pin that inspired it…

gum 1

And here’s what we made!

975184_10151406702971923_53221706_n

One thought on “Saw It, Pinned It, Did It

Leave a Reply

