Chicken Enchilada Pasta

I made this tonight, modified from this recipe!

First, cook one pound of boneless, skinless chicken breasts in the crockpot, covered with green enchilada sauce. (I used one big can and one small can.) The chicken I used was frozen so I cooked it on high for three hours. Then shred the chicken.

IMGP7092

Cook 12 ounces of penne pasta according to directions. Meanwhile, cook one small diced onion and two diced garlic cloves in one tablespoon of olive oil for five minutes. (My onion pieces are bigger because I don’t like them and I wanted to be able to easily pick them out! You can add bell pepper as well if you want.)

IMGP7091

Add the chicken, two and a half cups of green enchilada sauce (reserved from the crockpot), a cup of red enchilada sauce, and a small can of green chiles to the onions and garlic. (I didn’t have red enchilada sauce so I substituted taco sauce and salsa!) Add whatever spices you want as well (garlic powder, taco seasoning, salt, chili powder, cumin…). Cook for ten minutes.

IMGP7090

Add the cooked pasta, two cups shredded cheese, and one cup sour cream to the mixture and stir!

IMGP7096

Feel free to add whatever toppings you want! Ideas: avocado, tomatoes, cilantro, green onions, sour cream…

IMGP7093

This recipe makes six servings. I used Ronzoni Garden Delight pasta, light cheese, and light sour cream and each serving was 12 Weight Watchers points (without toppings). This meal was delicious, and I highly recommend it if you’re in the mood for Mexican food but sick of tacos!

IMGP7098

One thought on “Chicken Enchilada Pasta

  1. Pingback: Random Thursday | Grown in Southern Ground

Leave a Reply

