The Year in Review

(I got this questionnaire from Nicole, who got it here.)

What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?
I rode a camel.

599587_10150856241496923_1548285319_n

Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I don’t remember if I even made any resolutions last year… So far I have vowed to visit Greece, finish my master’s degree, get a job as a librarian, visit every brewery in WNC, and attend a book signing in 2013.

Did anyone close to you give birth?
Yes, my friend Jinhee (just a few days after I left Korea!) and my stepsister Ruth.

Byuri

Byuri

Klay Audrey

Klay Audrey

Did anyone close to you die?
No.

What countries did you visit?
I lived in Korea and visited the Philippines, Cambodia, Thailand, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Laos, Vietnam, China, Mongolia, Russia, Poland, Grand Cayman, and Mexico.

What would you like to have in 2013 that you lacked in 2012?
A job as a librarian.

What date from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory?
July 17, the day my boyfriend and I broke up.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Traveling on the Trans-Mongolian Railway from Beijing to St. Petersburg.

What was your biggest failure?
Gaining weight instead of losing it.

Did you suffer illness or injury?
The worst was a very painful jellyfish sting in Vietnam!

579665_10150839849801923_671065849_n

What was the best thing you bought?
Well I didn’t buy it, but I received this awesome waterproof, dustproof, coldproof, shockproof, and crushproof camera!

41HRTsNe8TL._AA300_

Where did most of your money go?
Traveling!

What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Moving home to NC after two years in Korea.

What song will always remind you of 2012?
Gangnam Style!

Compared to this time last year, are you:
Happier or sadder? The same
Thinner or fatter? Fatter
Richer or poorer? Poorer

What do you wish you’d done more of?
Appreciating Korea while I lived there.

What do you wish you’d done less of?
Spending money.

How did you spend Christmas?
At home with my family, eating dinner and opening presents! I didn’t take any good group pics unfortunately, but here are all the “grandkids” (my nephew Carter and nieces Olivia and Klay).

20681_10151152259396923_757134495_n

Did you fall in love in 2012?
No.

Who were your best friends?
Ohee in Korea and Cindy in NC.

I was her Maid of Honor!

I was her Maid of Honor!

We threw an awesome Christmas party together!

We threw an awesome Christmas party together!

What thing did you do that was meaningful to others?
Donated to several charities.

What was your favorite TV program?
The Walking Dead, American Horror Story, Homeland, Dexter, Sons of Anarchy, Game of Thrones, Justified, Girls, Cougar Town

Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Hmmmmmm I don’t think so.

What was the best book you read?
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian by Sherman Alexie.

200px-The_Absolutely_True_Diary_of_a_Part-Time_Indian

What was your greatest musical discovery?
I’m not that into music.

What did you want and get?
Custom painted TOMS, a Kate Spade wallet, kittens…

imgp1211

536224_10151032451461923_1362034248_n

What did you want and not get?
A job as a children’s librarian.

What was your favorite film of this year?
Magic Mike? LOL. Also Argo, The Hunger Games, Moonrise Kingdom, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and Pitch Perfect.

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 30… I made pottery, went swimming, went out to dinner, and had cake and drinks at my house!

b

What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
My year was pretty awesome but getting the job I wanted (children’s librarian) would have made it awesomer.

What kept you sane?
Reading, blogging, my friends and family.

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
I developed a huge crush on Tom Hardy. And Rebel Wilson became by role model. 🙂

tom-hardy

r

What political issue stirred you the most?
I tried to avoid politics as usual.

Who did you miss?
Everyone in NC when I was in Korea and everyone in Korea now that I’m home!

Who was the best new person you met this year?
My nieces Olivia and Klay. 🙂

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2012:
It’s OK to move on and start over.

Quote that sums up your year:
“Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer.”

2 thoughts on “The Year in Review

  1. Yay for a wonderful review post! Thanks for the shout-out too. I am loving your custom TOMS, those are adorable. This is the FOURTH blog post I’ve seen TODAY with the book “Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian,” it must be something special and worth reading. I’m adding it to my to-read list now! Have a great 2013, looking forward to it. =)

  2. Whoa! You had me at “I rode a camel.” I thought, “Wow, this girl has had a MUCH more interesting year than most…” =)

    So glad others have answered the Year in Review questionnaire. I found it on some random blog 10 years ago. Love your answers. Hope you have a fabulous 2013!! =)

Leave a Reply

