Movie Review: Wanderlust

I decide to ignore the bad reviews and watch Wanderlust because I love Paul Rudd and Jennifer Aniston. Big mistake…

From Rotten Tomatoes: George (Rudd) and Linda (Aniston) are an overextended, stressed out Manhattan couple. After George is downsized out of his job, they find themselves with only one option: to move in with George’s awful brother in Atlanta. On the way there, George and Linda stumble upon Elysium, an idyllic community populated by colorful characters who embrace a different way of looking at things. Money? It can’t buy happiness. Careers? Who needs them? Clothes? Only if you want them. Is Elysium the fresh start George and Linda need? Or will the change of perspective cause more problems than it solves?

Rotten Tomatoes rating: 60%
Mountain Xpress rating: 2 stars

Verdict: 2 out of 5 stars. This was the most unfunny movie I’ve seen in awhile. I laughed once (when Paul Rudd was practicing seducing Malin Akerman). I did love Ken Marino (from Party Down) as George’s brother.

2 stars

One thought on “Movie Review: Wanderlust

  1. I didn’t love the movie, but I did think it was funny. It could’ve been a lot better with the cast they had but I won’t complain too much. My girlfriend and I watched the movie after a coworker at Dish recommended it to us (they absolutely loved it). Personally, I’m just glad I didn’t go out and buy it. Instead I decided to add it to my Blockbuster @ Home queue and after we got it and watched it we took it back into the store to get a movie with a little more kick to it. I wouldn’t say it was terrible, but it could’ve been much better!

Leave a Reply

