Book Review: The Snowman by Jo Nesbo

I am reviewing this book for the Eclectic Reader Challenge 2012 (Crime/Mystery Fiction).

I became interested in this book after my friend told me it was being made into a movie directed by Martin Scorsese and starring Leonardo DiCaprio.

Summary from Goodreads: Oslo in November. The first snow of the season has fallen. A boy named Jonas wakes in the night to find his mother gone. Out his window, in the cold moonlight, he sees the snowman that inexplicably appeared in the yard earlier in the day. Around its neck is his mother’s pink scarf. Police investigator Harry Hole suspects a link between a menacing letter he’s received and the disappearance of Jonas’s mother–and of perhaps a dozen other women, all of whom went missing on the day of a first snowfall. As his investigation deepens, something else emerges: he is becoming a pawn in an increasingly terrifying game whose rules are devised–and constantly revised–by the killer.

Verdict: 5 out of 5 stars! I couldn’t put this one down. At first it was a little slow, and confusing, but it all came together quickly. It was pretty long and I thought it would take me awhile to get through but soon I was reading it any chance I could get and staying up late to finish “just one more chapter”. The mystery was compelling (and some scenes were definitely gruesome) and I couldn’t figure out who “The Snowman” was until just before Harry did! (But I’m always dumb like that.) Can’t wait to see the movie!

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Snowman by Jo Nesbo

  1. I have yet to read any of Jo Nesbo’s books though I do have them on my wishlist. Glad you enjoyed it so much – thanks for sharing your review

    Shelleyrae

  2. This sounds like a good read. I love a good mystery……I always fall victim to “one more chapter” too. then it’s 3 am and I remember that I am actually a scardy-cat who now won’t be able to fall asleep. ha ha

  3. Pingback: WWW Wednesday « Grown in Southern Ground

  4. Pingback: Book Chat « Grown in Southern Ground

  5. Pingback: Eclectic Reader Challenge 2012 | I Like Big Books

  6. Pingback: Books Read in 2012 | I Like Big Books

Leave a Reply

