The breading of Bella (and other recent events…)

You would think that being a full-time student, I would have plenty of time to write. But somehow that just doesn’t happen. So I am finally blogging about the past few weeks…

Been on Weight Watchers for two weeks now and have lost 2.4 pounds. I lost 2.2 pounds the first week but only 0.2 the second week as we went out of town for the weekend and it all went to shit. But I am back on track and determined to lose two more pounds this week! It’s been pretty difficult but I know it’s not impossible. Willpower! (By the way, if you are dieting in Korea and want to know how to read nutrition labels, check out this blog post.)

Along with being extremely hungry, there were also a few days last week where I was really stressed out about money. I thought I would only be getting half of my student loans for this year which would have meant some serious budgeting and some credit card bills that wouldn’t be paid off for years… Fortunately I contacted the financial aid office and it looks like I should be receiving all the money. But it’s not in my bank account yet so fingers crossed.

I have tried quite a few things discovered on Pinterest lately. I am going to do separate posts about Homemade Cheez-Its and Red Velvet Cheesecake but I also made lemon salt scrub and mini pineapple upside-down cakes.

I made the pineapple upside-down cakes for our Superbowl party (along with some other treats… like “football” chocolate-covered strawberries). It was fun to watch it live even though that meant 8:25am our time! I also enjoyed the halftime show for once. I loved Cee Lo Green and Madonna played one of my favorite songs (Like A Prayer). Unfortunately, the Patriots lost… 😦

I also made Jinhee spaghetti for her birthday (her request) along with the red velvet cheesecake that was to die for!

We’ve had fun with Bella lately. After seeing this article on Facebook, we decided we had to make our own inbre(a)d cat (ha ha ha). And we thought she should have some excitement outside of the apartment so we took her to play in the snow.

I went to the movie theater the last two Fridays and saw I Don’t Know How She Does It and War Horse. Both were better than I expected. I Don’t Know How She Does It was your typical romantic comedy but for women in their 30s instead of 20s. I was really skeptical when I first started watching War Horse (“I can’t believe I paid to watch a family movie about a freakin’ horse!”) but it ended up being pretty good and yes, I cried. Still don’t think it was worthy of an Oscar nomination though. Daniel and I are going to see Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy for Valentine’s Day tomorrow (and thanks again to my wonderful mom for sending me a Valentine’s card in the mail). Then there are four movies coming out here Thursday that I want to see: The Descendents, Woman in Black, The Grey, and One For the Money.

Lady Gaga is kicking off her world tour in Seoul on April 27th! Pretty sure I’m gonna go even though tickets might be pretty expensive…

RIP Whitney Houston. I will watch The Bodyguard this week in memoriam.

Daniel and I bought our train tickets to Busan for March 1-4. We also booked two nights at Hello Guesthouse and we’re going to find a love motel for the last night. And of course I’ve made our itinerary. 🙂

I also decided to add on yet another country to our epic June trip: Laos. Since I figured out how to get cheap airfare (book separate Air Asia tickets: to Kuala Lumpur and then from there to Vientiane), why not? I am going to visit Vientiane and Luang Prabang (not Vang Vieng as it sounds too much like a party town/place to die in a drunken river tubing accident). So now the plan is: depart for Hong Kong May 26; then Laos; meet Daniel in Vietnam (Hanoi); Beijing; Trans-Mongolian Railway to Moscow with stops in Ulan Bator (and a stay in a ger camp in Terelj National Park) and Irkutsk (and a stay on Olkhon Island on Lake Baikal); St. Petersburg; and then an overnight layover in Warsaw before arriving home June 2nd. Whew!

Daniel also found out his college roommate/friend Will is getting married October 28th so that adds another wedding to our list. Fortunately this one is near Asheville so no traveling! Daniel is also now considering coming back to Korea in November for another year… I will not be joining him. I am done with Korea. I want to explore New Zealand and Australia or some other place next! My student loans give me money to live on while I’m getting my degree… And since all my classes are online I can live anywhere in the world. 🙂

Leave a Reply

