Homemade Cheez-Its

Cheez-Its are Daniel’s favorite snack. And at around $6 a box in Korea, they ain’t cheap. Especially considering he scarfs down the entire box in one sitting. So, when I came across a recipe for homemade Cheez-Its on Pinterest, I knew I had to make them for him. I’m a wonderful girlfriend, aren’t I?

Since there were only five ingredients, it seemed like these would be easy to make, right? Well it wasn’t difficult but it was very time-consuming. Especially since my oven’s so small. So keep that in mind!

First, I preheated the oven to 175 C. Then I grated eight ounces of cheddar cheese. I don’t like to use that pre-shredded cheese anymore; the block always tastes better!

I put the cheese in a mixing bowl with one cup of flour, 3/4 teaspoon of salt, and (since I didn’t have cayenne pepper) 1/4 teaspoon of paprika.

Then I added four tablespoons of cold butter, cut into small squares.

The recipe said to make the dough in the food processor but mine sucks so that didn’t work so well. I ended up using my electric hand mixer instead and it did the job.

After putting the dough in the freezer for half an hour (which was too long), it was time to make each individual Cheez-It. I rolled the dough out on plastic wrap (it worked just fine; I didn’t have wax paper) and used a pizza cutter to make the small squares.

Then I placed the squares individually on a foil-lined baking pan and sprinkled them with salt before baking for 10 minutes.

Daniel loved them! I tried a few and must admit they were pretty good. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Homemade Cheez-Its

  1. wow, they look wonderful….I’m sure all the ingredients cost more that $6 – but it was a great homemade treat! Yes,,you are a wonderful girlfriend

Leave a Reply

