Friday 5

1. What’s a film, adapted from a book you liked, that was as good as (or better than) its source material?
The Help was such a great movie and a good book too! I also liked the movie The Kite Runner but I don’t think it’s quite as amazing as the book was.

2. What’s a good film based on a book you disliked?
I hated the book Eat, Pray, Love and the movie was definitely better than the book, but still just OK.

3. What film, adapted from a book you liked, was horribly disappointing?
My Sister’s Keeper. They completely changed the ending and ruined it!

4. What book, not yet made into a film, would make a really good film?
Now this is going to be a long list!
Life as We Knew It. Just finished it and it would make a great post-apocalyptic film.
Nightwoods and Thirteen Moons by Charles Frazier because I loved Cold Mountain.
The Glass Castle and Half Broke Horses by Jeannette Walls.
One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd by Jim Fergus is my favorite book ever!
A Thousand Splendid Suns is even better than The Kite Runner.
Change of Heart and Nineteen Minutes are Jodi Picoult’s best books.
(OK, so this turned into a “good books you should read” answer…)

5. What’s a book you’ve read because you liked the film that was based upon it?
I so rarely read the book after watching the movie because I know what’s going to happen. But I do want to read American Psycho and The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. And before I see the movies I’d like to read Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close and World War Z.

P.S. Can’t wait for The Hunger Games movie!!

Original post can be found here.

Leave a Reply

